IT Industry: sometimes spam can amuse - but not often
There's a chap who calls himself Dr Martin Vermont. The Dr bit is, he says, due to a Ph.D. It might be true - but he's a serial spammer. The amusing thing is that his latest spam says that some of us might not have got his previous spam - since I have had problems lately with emails" intercepted by spam-filters set too high." Ha bloody ha. It's hard to see this as anything other than a scam.
Most Recent - This Section
Internet: "buy this domain or lose business"Infotech: when wow turns to WTF: do you care about Blackberry 10?
Internet: another bank fraud shows why Nominet is right
InfoTech: Putin says Russia's government to migrate to OSS
InfoTech: Steve Jobs dies.
Most Recent - Whole Site
The Risk Professional: Green Capital Consulting GroupLegal Professional: Baker Mac lawyer guilty of money laundering and securities fraud
Sales and Marketing: shooting oneself in the foot
Business Crime: Dear Mrs Kate Dave: Yes, please. Send it now.
The Risk Professional: Is your data secure enough for the UK's ICO?
Most Recent - BankingInsuranceSecurities.Com
Sanctions: USA PATRIOT Act designation 20120522Sanctions: OFAC Update 20120515
Sanctions: OFAC update 20120508
Sanctions: OFAC Update 20120517
Sanctions: OFAC Update 20120517 - 2
We know it's a spam because the address it is sent to has been harvested from a website which carries a warning notice that to access the site for the purpose of harvesting e-mail addresses for marketing purposes is an unauthorised access and therefore illegal. So even if by the use of some weasel words inserted into anti-spam laws by the direct marketing industry to excuse their dubious activities, the address is not lawfully obtained.
Apparently, the particular website from which the address has been harvested "cannot be found on foreign search engines."
WARNING: It is recommended that you do not visit any of the domains / urls listed in this article due the risk of drive-by attack on your computer.
And here's the rub: "Our company is specialized in multilingual search engine promotions in 28 languages." That phraseology is not that of a native English speaker. The company is, apparently, Multilingual Search Engine Optimization Inc.
But in June this year, the same e-mail was distributed over the name "Dr Marc Schneider."Except that time the company was called Global Vibration Inc (same phone number)
They claim to be in Washington DC at 1250 Connecticut Ave N.W. Suite 200.
That's a maildrop at a virtual office centre. The address has been used in recent times by Futures Strategy Group, LLC, The James Madisson Project, Vitetta. You too can have an "office" there for just USD95 per month.
There is just one constant: their web domain: www.mplw.net.
That hints at a related domain: mseo.com
The domains are registered to the same drop box.
mseo.com is registered to a server whose domain owner has an address in Bulgaria.
Now, you can click on the link in the e-mail if you want to. But it's strongly recommended that you don't.