We know it's a spam because the address it is sent to has been harvested from a website which carries a warning notice that to access the site for the purpose of harvesting e-mail addresses for marketing purposes is an unauthorised access and therefore illegal. So even if by the use of some weasel words inserted into anti-spam laws by the direct marketing industry to excuse their dubious activities, the address is not lawfully obtained.

Apparently, the particular website from which the address has been harvested "cannot be found on foreign search engines."

WARNING: It is recommended that you do not visit any of the domains / urls listed in this article due the risk of drive-by attack on your computer.

And here's the rub: "Our company is specialized in multilingual search engine promotions in 28 languages." That phraseology is not that of a native English speaker. The company is, apparently, Multilingual Search Engine Optimization Inc.

But in June this year, the same e-mail was distributed over the name "Dr Marc Schneider."Except that time the company was called Global Vibration Inc (same phone number)

They claim to be in Washington DC at 1250 Connecticut Ave N.W. Suite 200.

That's a maildrop at a virtual office centre. The address has been used in recent times by Futures Strategy Group, LLC, The James Madisson Project, Vitetta. You too can have an "office" there for just USD95 per month.

There is just one constant: their web domain: www.mplw.net.

That hints at a related domain: mseo.com

The domains are registered to the same drop box.

mseo.com is registered to a server whose domain owner has an address in Bulgaria.

Now, you can click on the link in the e-mail if you want to. But it's strongly recommended that you don't.

Bookmark and Share





loading
eZ publish™ copyright © 1999-2012 eZ systems as