• Search:



The Chief Officers' Network - your business advantage / Management / Doing business in.... / Internet, The / Doing business in: internet domain name con bounces back




The "From" address is a clue: "Registration of Domain Expiration" it says - and uses an address at an anonymous e-mail system in the Czech Republic.

The "Subject" is "FWD: Attention: Registration of [domain name]"

Why, one wonders, would a registrar be forwarding mail? Another clue.

The body of the mail is as follows:Notice of Expiring Domain

Domain: [DOMAIN NAME]

Bill To: [person named in the domain registration Invoice # 1318718637[the domain registration address]

Invoice Date Oct 15, 2011, Terms Net 14 - US Due Date Oct 30, 2011[telephone number of domain registration P.O. #

PROCESS PAYMENT SECURELY[the address given is not a secure address]

Domain Name Registration Price Term

Oct 15, 2011 - Oct 15, 2012 $75.00 1 Year

Attn Nigel Morris-Cotterill:

This solicitation is to inform you that it's time to send in your search engine registration for [domain name]. We are a search engine ranking and submission service organization.

Failure to complete this order by Oct 30, 2011 may result in the cancellation of this offer (making it difficult for your customers to locate you using search engines on the web).

[domain name] registration will include search engine submission for 1 year. You are under no obligation to pay the amount stated above unless you accept this offer by Oct 30, 2011. This notice is not an invoice. It is a courtesy reminder to register domain name for search engine listing so that your customers can locate you on the web.

Act Soon! This Offer for [domain name] will expire on Oct 30, 2011. Act today!

er....

no thanks.

The url to which uses are sent is www.annualurl.com.

Bookmark and Share





loading